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Introduction

A Legislative Guide to Washington State Property Taxes is offered as
a resource to members of the Senate, their staff, and other interested
persons to provide an overview of the property tax system in this state. It
describes the evolution and characteristics of our property tax structure
and provides comparative and historical analyses.

The Legislative Guide to Washington State Property Taxes was
prepared by the Senate Ways and Means Committee staff (within Senate
Committee Services) and the Legislative Evaluation and Accountability
Program (LEAP) to provide answers to many of the typical questions
regarding property taxes. This Legislative Guide to Washington State
Property Taxes is a summary of our property tax system intended to
assist its readers in understanding basic terminology and gaining a
historical and analytical perspective with which to evaluate potential
reforms.

Questions concerning this report or requests for other documentation
should be directed to:

Senate Ways and Means Committee

339 John A. Cherberg Building

Olympia, Washington 98504-0482

Telephone: 360-786-7715

Fax: 360-786-7615
http://www.leg.wa.gov/senate/scs/wm/default.htm



How Much Money Does the Property Tax Generate
and How is it Spent?

In 2013, Washington State taxpayers paid a total of $9.5 billion in
property taxes to local governments, state government and school
districts. $5.3 billion, 55.8 percent, of all property tax revenues collected
both by the state and local governments are collected in support of K-12
education, with the state’s share being distributed entirely to public
schools. Of this $5.3 billion, $1.9 billion was collected by the state, $2.1
billion was collected via local maintenance and operations levies, and
$1.3 billion was collected via local levies for capital expenses and bonds.

The proportions displayed in the following chart represent the
distribution of taxes collected from the “average” individual taxpayer in
the state.

Distribution of Property Taxes
Calendar Year 2013

Source: Property Tax Statistics 2013, Department of Revenue



Property taxes are the largest source of tax revenue for local
governments, generating about $4.2 billion in 2013 (excluding local
school levies). The state property tax, plus in-lieu taxes, are the third
largest source of revenue to the state General Fund, generating
approximately $2 billion in the 2013 fiscal year, or about 12 percent of
state tax revenues.

The following chart shows the breakdown of state tax revenues.

State Government Tax Revenue
Fiscal Year 2013

Source: Tax Statistics 2013, Department of Revenue

Local government consists of hundreds of separate taxing districts
across the state. In addition to the state (a single taxing district for
purposes of collecting the state levy), there are 1808 other local
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taxing districts, including 39 counties, 281 cities and towns, 372
fire districts, 189 emergency medical service (EMS) districts, 80
ports, and 33 library districts.



What Property is Taxable?

Acrticle 7, section 1 of the state Constitution defines property as
everything that can be owned, whether tangible or intangible. The
property tax is applied annually to the assessed value of all property
unless it is specifically exempt by law.

The Constitution requires that taxes be uniform within a class of
property. For property tax purposes, there are two broad classes of
property, real and personal. Real property consists of land and
buildings, structures, or improvements that are affixed to the land.

In general, everything else is referred to as personal property.
Because the Legislature has exempted motor vehicles, household goods,
and personal effects from the property tax, only personal property used in
business is subject to the property tax.

What are the Major Exemptions from Property Tax?

The text of the original state Constitution declares, “[s]uch property
as the legislature may by general laws provide shall be exempt.” It is
this provision of the Constitution that allows the Legislature to grant
property tax exemptions. Note that it allows the Legislature to exempt
types of property; it does not allow the Legislature to exempt property
based on its owner.

Any property tax exemption has the effect of slightly increasing the
tax rate that owners of all other taxable property must pay by reducing
the overall base of taxable property. This circumstance of causing one
segment of taxpayers’ taxes to increase as a result of exempting the value
of property of another segment of taxpayers is commonly referred to as a
“tax shift.”

There are numerous exemptions from property tax, established either
by statute or constitutionally. The largest exemption is for intangible
property. This includes money, mortgages, notes, accounts, stocks and
shares of corporations, trademarks, trade names, patents, copyrights,
trade secrets, franchise agreements, licenses, etc.

Other exemptions include business inventories, household goods,
most personal property, retired persons, churches, nonprofit hospitals,
private schools and colleges, and agricultural products.



When Were These Exemptions Granted?

The exemption for intangible property was originally granted by the
Legislature in 1925 and has been amended several times, most recently
in 1997. The exemption for business inventories was passed by the
Legislature and phased in over ten years, beginning in 1974. Motor
vehicles were exempted from property tax in 1937, when the motor
vehicle excise tax was enacted which has since been replaced by the
vehicle license fee. As early as 1871, there were exemptions for
household and personal effects, but the expanded exemption that
individuals have today was granted in 1935. Churches and hospitals
have exemptions that were granted prior to statehood, in 1854 and 1886
respectively. Computer software was exempted in 1991. Exemptions for
agricultural products were subject to legislative changes in 1973 through
1984 when the current exemption for all such products was enacted.
Private schools and colleges were exempted by the Legislature in 1925.

It is important to note that many of these exemptions were granted in
statute by the Legislature. The state Constitution authorized other
exemptions, such as exemptions for governmental entities, a $15,000
exemption from tax on personal property for sole proprietors, and
property tax exemptions for retired persons.

What Types of Property Tax Relief are Available to
Retired Persons?

Property tax exemptions for retired persons (defined as seniors,
disabled persons, and 100% disabled veterans) originated with a
constitutional amendment in 1966 and have been modified by the
Legislature many times since. A constitutional amendment was required
because exemptions for retired persons are based on the owner of the
property, not on the type of property.

Property tax exemptions are available to retired persons who meet
income requirements and are retired. Exemptions include total
exemptions for excess levies (voter-approved property taxes) or partial
exemptions from regular levies.



Exemption Program

Homeowners 61 years of age and older may apply for an exemption
from paying excess levies if their household income is $35,000 or less.
The property tax relief is available for taxes payable in the year after the
application is made and every year thereafter. They are also exempt
from regular levies on a portion of their home value if their income is
$30,000 or less. A further benefit for these homeowners with incomes of
$35,000 or less is that the taxable value of the property is frozen when
the homeowners becomes eligible for the program.

Deferral Program

A related program allows homeowners at least 60 years of age with
household incomes of $40,000 or less to defer payment of all property
taxes. These taxes may be deferred until the sale of the property or until
the property ceases to be the permanent residence of the homeowner or
surviving spouse.

Even though the eligibility requirements are broader for the deferral
program than for the exemptions, only 624 people took advantage of the
available tax deferral for 2012, compared to112,733 receiving
exemptions.

What Types of Property Tax Relief are Available to
Low-Income Persons?

Deferral Program

During the November 2007 special session, the Legislature
created a new property tax deferral program for households with a
combined disposable income of $57,000 or less. This program is similar
to the existing property tax deferral program for retired persons, but the
new program has no age or retirement due to disability requirement.

Under this new deferral program, eligible homeowners of any
age may defer one-half of the property taxes and special assessments
imposed on the homeowner’s primary residence, if the first half taxes
and assessments are paid by the April 30 due date. To qualify, the
homeowner must have owned the residence for at least five years. The
total amount of taxes deferred under this program may not exceed 40
percent of the homeowner’s equity value in the property.



What are “Current Use” Valuations and “Open
Space?”

A Constitutional amendment in 1968 established a current use
assessment for open space, timber, and agricultural lands. Although not
a tax exemption in the strict sense of the term, current use valuations
reduce the tax burden on certain properties. As a result, the reduction
“shifts” the tax burden to other taxpayers just as an exemption does.

The taxable value is based on how the property is currently used,
rather than the market value (or the “highest and best use”) of the
property. For example, the 2010 market value for all current use
properties in the state is $17.1 billion; in contrast, the 2012 current use
value for these properties is $4.9 billion. In 2012, there were 11,375,164
acres in current use classifications.

The open space program allows agricultural lands, timberlands, and
other “open space” lands to be assessed according to their value as they
are currently being used, rather than the market value. This “current use”
value is typically much lower than market value and is, therefore, a tax
benefit for the property owner.

“Open space” lands are lands which conserve natural resources,
promote conservation, enhance public value and recreation, preserve
visual quality, or have other legislatively identified attributes which are
of public benefit. Agricultural and timber lands are subject to various
requirements regarding size, use, and income.

When property is removed from the current use valuation program,
either by the owner or the assessor due to a change in use, back taxes
must be paid.

What Types of Restrictions and Limitations are there
on Property Taxes?

The myriad of constitutional and statutory provisions regarding
property taxes have served to create an interconnected system of property
tax administration and collection. In order to understand the overall
system and the rationale for its evolution, it is important to review the
restrictions and limitations governing property taxes.

Uniformity in Taxation
Perhaps the most important principle of property taxation in our state
is the uniformity of taxation. In the 1853 Organic Act establishing the
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government of the Washington Territory, the U.S. Congress imposed a
strong requirement for uniformity in taxation in order to prevent the
territory’s residents from imposing a disproportionate share of taxes on
nonresidents. Uniformity of taxation continued as a fundamental
principle in the state Constitution adopted in 1889.

The state Constitution includes a uniformity clause, which provides
that “taxes shall be uniform upon the same class of property within the
territorial limits of the authority levying the tax.... All real estate shall
constitute one class.” This means that taxes must be the same on real
property of the same market value. Uniformity requires both an equal
rate of tax and equality in valuing the property taxed. Many other states
have differential tax rates or different value standards that depend upon
the separate classifications of property. Such a system would not be
constitutional in Washington.

One Percent Limit (Ten Dollar Limit)

Beyond the principle of uniformity, the Washington State property
tax system as we know it today really took shape in the early 1970s. In
1972, Washington State voters amended the Constitution to limit the
annual amount of property taxes that may be imposed on an individual
parcel of property to one percent of its true and fair value. By law, tax
rates are stated in terms of dollars per $1,000 of value. Therefore, the 1
percent limit is the same as $10 per $1,000. Under the constitutional
amendment, the one percent limit ($10 limit) may be exceeded only with
the approval of 60 percent of the district’s voters, with the exception of
school districts which may pass a levy with a simple majority vote.

Taxes imposed under this limit are termed “regular” levies, while
those outside the limit are “excess” or “special” levies.

For statewide taxes due in 2013, 62.0 percent were regular levies and
38.0 percent were excess voter-approved levies. The majority of excess
levies are school district levies. The following chart breaks down the
statewide average regular and excess levies by type of taxing district.



2013 Regular and Special Levies

Source: Property Tax Statistics 2013, Department of Revenue

10



The one percent maximum rate for regular property taxes is limited
further by a complex series of statutes. The $10 limit is broken down as
follows:

Available for six additional purposes:
¢ Preservation of open space
e Emergency medical services
Affordable housing
Metropolitan parks
e Criminal justice
o Ferry services

Other $0.50 y

Local $5.90
Districts ¥~ Counties, cities, and road districts are known as “senior
districts” and get first priority in levying the $5.90.

e Counties receive $1.80.

o Cities receive $3.60 or less if library or fire
protection services are provided by separate
districts.

¢ In unincorporated areas, there is no city levy but a
county road levy of $2.25 is authorized.

o The remainder is allocated to “junior districts”
which include fire districts, water districts, park
and recreation districts, cemetery districts,
hospital districts, stadium districts, flood control
districts, airport districts, and numerous others.

State $3.60
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The Limit (Inflation) Factor

Local government taxing districts generally determine their property
tax levy based on the revenue required to fund their budget for the
following year. However, in 1971, the Legislature imposed a statutory
limit on annual increases in local governments’ revenues from property
taxes. Under this limit, revenues from any district’s regular property tax
levy may not exceed 106 percent of the highest amount of revenue
received from any levy in the preceding three years. Added to this is an
amount to account for new construction and improvements. The 1979
Legislature extended this limit to the state property tax as well.

In 1997, voters passed Referendum 47, which imposed additional
requirements on the 106 percent limit. Under this provision, taxing
districts with a population over 10,000 were only allowed to increase the
regular levy by the rate of inflation or six percent, whichever was
smaller. For a district to increase the levy by the full six percent, a super
majority vote of the governing body in each district was required. In
addition, Referendum 47 limited the growth of assessed values, by
averaging large valuation increases over time. This averaging provision
was subsequently thrown out by the Supreme Court in 1998 for being
unconstitutional because of the requirement for "uniform™ valuation of
properties.

In 2000, voters passed Initiative 722, which limited future increases
of taxable value to the lesser of inflation, or two percent per year. It also
limited taxing district increases to 2 percent and rolled back certain
property tax increases levied in the year 2000. However, the Supreme
Court in 2001 ruled this initiative unconstitutional because it violated the
Constitution’s requirement that initiatives only involve a single subject.

In 2001, voters passed Initiative 747 (effective in 2002), which
restricted taxing districts to a property tax increase of the lesser of
inflation, or one percent. This limit is on the taxes collected and not on
the growing value of the property. Thus, under Initiative 747, a taxing
district could collect only one percent more than the previous year’s
cumulative total of property taxes assessed within its jurisdiction.
Initiative 747 was drafted as a change to the 2 percent limit adopted in
Initiative 722. In November 2007, the Supreme Court held that since
Initiative 747 amended the two percent limit in Initiative 722 (which had
previously been invalidated by the court), Initiative 747 did not set forth
in full the law it amended as the Constitution requires. However, that
same month, the Legislature met in special session and passed HB 2416,
reinstating the one percent levy limit established by Initiative 747.
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How is Assessed Value Determined?

There are three criteria used to value real property: comparable
sales, cost, and income potential.

e Comparable sales: value is determined or estimated based on
multiple sales of similar properties. Most residential property is
valued using this method.

e Cost: value is determined based on the cost of replacing an
existing structure with a similar one that serves the same
purpose. This method is used to value new construction.

e Income: value is determined based on the income producing
potential of the property. This method is often used to value
business property.

For many years, assessment practices varied widely across the state,
resulting in both constitutional and statutory changes intended to
improve adherence to requirements for uniformity. In the early 1950s,
with the imposition of the real estate excise tax, the state received more
accurate data on actual sales prices of real property. This data revealed
significant inequities between the assessed value and the actual market
value among taxpayers living in different areas of the state. In 1955, the
Legislature adopted a property revaluation cycle, requiring that
revaluation occur a minimum of every four years.

Frequent revaluation of property during a time when property values
are rapidly increasing improves uniformity, because property
assessments more closely reflect the current value. Otherwise, recently
revalued property is closer to current market values while property that
has not been revalued lags far behind the market value. In addition, less
frequent revaluation cycles can create rapid increases in property tax
assessments. For example, if a property in a rapidly increasing market is
revalued every four years, the assessed value will more dramatically
jump after revaluation. To address these inequities, the legislature
passed Substitute Senate Bill 5368 in 2009 which required annual
revaluations in all counties by the year 2014. As of 2012, 31 counties
revalue on an annual cycle and 7 revalue on a four-year cycle, with only
one county on a two year cycle. Since several counties with large
property bases revalue annually, the large majority of property in the
state is revalued annually.
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How is the Amount of Tax Levied by a Taxing
District Determined?

A taxing district levies a property tax in the amount needed to fund
its budget for the following year. By November 30th of each year, the
amount of taxes to be levied by taxing districts are certified to the county
assessor who computes the tax rate necessary to raise that amount of
revenue. The county assessor calculates the tax rate necessary by
dividing the total levy amount by the amount of taxable property in the
district. This number is expressed in terms of a dollar rate per $1,000 of
valuation. For example, a rate of $0.00025 is expressed as 25¢ per
$1,000 of assessed value. For the state levy (which is dedicated to the
support of the common schools), the state Department of Revenue
determines the amount of tax to be levied, apportions the tax to the
various counties, and certifies the tax to the county assessors.

There are three main components to the property tax; the levy,
assessed value, and levy rate.

e The levy is the total amount collected from the taxpayers by a
taxing district. Currently, the taxing districts are only able to
increase their levies by one percent per year.

e The assessed value and the levy rate are the tools that are used to
distribute the property tax burden equally to all taxpayers.

o Assessed Value x Levy Rate = levy

Since levies are capped at one percent, actual property taxes received
by a taxing district can only increase that much. The levy rates actually
decrease so that the levy itself is limited to a one percent increase.

How are Individual Property Taxes Determined?

The tax on a particular property is calculated by multiplying its
assessed value by the tax rate. Once the maximum allowable regular
property tax levy amount is determined for a district under the one
percent limit factor, the county assessor then calculates the necessary tax
rate by dividing the total levy amount by the amount of taxable property
(total assessed value) in the district. The rate is expressed in terms of
dollars per $1,000 of assessed value. The rate is multiplied by each
$1,000 in value for each parcel to determine the tax. An individual tax
bill is the total of all such calculations for all of the individual districts
levying tax on the particular property.
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For example, for a parcel of property assessed at $100,000, the tax
would be determined as follows, assuming a tax rate of $11.87:

Tax Rate (per $1,000) x Assessed Value

1.000 = Tax Due
$11.87 X $1T08,(§)0ﬂ = $1,187

The Constitution stipulates that property tax is to be levied against
the “true and fair” value of property. Property assessment, or valuation,
is the process by which the “true and fair” value is determined. In order
to comply with the provisions of the Constitution, all taxable property
must be assessed at 100 percent of its true and fair value unless the law
specifically provides otherwise, such as with low-income retired persons.
A county assessor makes these assessments for about 97 percent of the
property in the state. The Department of Revenue makes the remaining
three percent of the assessments.

Does Higher Assessed Value Necessarily Mean Higher
Property Taxes?

No. Many individuals have seen rapid growth in their assessed
values, but this does not necessarily equate to a rapid increase in their
property tax bill. The amount that a local taxing jurisdiction may levy is
limited to an increase of one percent per year.

With the levy only rising one percent per year, the effect of rapidly
growing assessed values is a reduction in the levy rate. For example, if
each and every parcel of property in a taxing district increased by exactly
30 percent, the actual tax rate due on each parcel of property would still
only increase by one percent.

A property that does not increase in value as much as the other
properties in a district may even see a reduction in taxes or will bear less
of the burden of the levy. On the other hand, a property that increases in
value at a greater rate than other properties in the district will bear a
greater burden of the tax. It is how values grow in relation to other
properties in the same district that determines whether the tax on a
property increases or decreases.

In a district where values average 30 percent growth, a home with 10
percent value growth would actually see a reduction in taxes.
Alternatively, in a district where values average five percent growth, a
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home with 10 percent value growth would likely see a significant
increase.
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How is Property Assessed and the Tax Collected?

All property, except new construction, is assessed on its value as of
January 1 of the assessment year and is listed on the tax rolls by May 31.
For new construction, the value as of July 31 of the tax year is listed on
the rolls. Notices of valuation changes are mailed to the owner of the
property. If taxpayers disagree, they can appeal the valuation. Appeals
of assessed values must be filed with the county board of equalization by
July 1 or 30 days following the mailing of the notice of revaluation,
whichever is later. However, the county legislative authority may
authorize up to 60 days.

The treasurer in the county where the property is located collects
property taxes. The treasurer is required to send each taxpayer a notice
which must include the amount of tax owed, the value of both real and
personal property, and the name and amount for each taxing district
levying a tax. The notice must also separately state the amount of excess
(voter-approved) levies. The county treasurer mails the tax bill to the
“taxpayer” listed on the tax rolls, which may be a lending institution in
cases where the property owner has provided that taxes are to be paid
from a reserve account administered by the lending institution. The
treasurers mail tax bills in early to mid-February. The first half of the tax
is due by April 30; the second half by October 31. Given the timelines
required for revaluation and billing, the taxes due in any particular year
are based upon the assessed value from the preceding year.

What Does Equalization of Assessments Mean?

In the 39 counties in Washington State, there are differences in
revaluation cycles and assessment practices. The state Constitution
requires taxes on real estate to be uniform within a district. For the
purpose of collecting the state property tax, the state is one district.
Since differences in county assessment practices would result in the state
property tax being applied non-uniformly across the state, the
Department of Revenue estimates, in each county, the relationship
between the assessed value and the actual market value.

The Department of Revenue then adjusts the state property tax rate
according to the average appraised value for that entire county, but does
not adjust assessed values for each property. As a result, the effective
state property tax rate is different in each county. However, this rate
multiplied by the assessed value results in a uniform tax across the entire
state. This process is called “equalization.”
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For example, if a parcel of property sold for $100,000 (after
deducting an amount for any personal property that may have been
included in the sale) and its assessed value is $90,000, the ratio of
assessed value to market value would be 90 percent, determined as
follows:

Assessed Value =+ Market Value = Assessment Ratio

$90,000 +  $100,000

90%
Are Public Schools Funded from the Property Tax?

The Washington State Constitution established basic education as the
state’s paramount duty. This duty has been reaffirmed in subsequent
statutes and court decisions, which acknowledge that the state must
provide sufficient aid to local school districts to fund basic education.
Currently, almost one-half of the state General Fund budget is spent for
public schools.

As mentioned earlier, the state property tax levy is dedicated for
public schools and is frequently called the state school levy. The
revenues are paid directly into the General Fund, along with all the other
tax revenues that go to the General Fund.

The state school levy provides about a quarter of the money in the
General Fund that the state spends on public schools. In addition,
revenues from the sales tax, business and occupation tax, real estate
excise tax, and other sources support public schools (see the chart on
page 4).

The state school levy as we know it today was enacted in 1975.
Prior to 1975, property owners paid a local regular school levy of $3.60
per $1,000. The local regular levy was replaced by the regular state levy
and state aid was increased to replace the lost local revenue. Over the
following few years, the state moved to fully fund basic education from
the state General Fund.
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How do Washington State Property Taxes Compare?

This section examines a number of comparative statistics regarding
property taxes in Washington State, including comparisons with other
states and historical comparisons to examine how property taxes have
changed over time. The analysis is accomplished largely through the use
of a series of graphic presentations.

The following chart shows the recent trends of the state property
tax rate. The rate is statutorily limited to $3.60 per $1,000 of assessed
value; however, it does fluctuate from year to year due to the interaction
between property values and levy limitations. The rate in 2013 was
$2.31.

State Levy Rate

$3.00
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$1.50 -
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$0.00 -
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Source: Department of Revenue, Property Tax Statistics

The chart on the following page is a comparison among all states of
property taxes relative to income. When compared to the other 49 states,
state and local property taxes in Washington appear to be about in the
middle. The most recent national information is from fiscal year 20011,
at which time Washington ranked 31% in property taxes at $30.21 per
$1,000 of personal income, below the national average of $35.87.
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Property Taxes Per $1,000 personal Income
Fiscal Year 2011
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What are Some of the Recent Legislative Changes to
the Property Tax?

Modifying Provisions Governing Local Improvement Districts (LIDs)
Created by Irrigation Districts (2SHB 1416 -- Chapter 177, Laws of
2013)

Provisions governing irrigation district LIDs have been changed,
including: (1) specifying that L1D bonds do not constitute a general
indebtedness against the issuing irrigation district; (2) authorizing L1Ds
to be comprised of noncontiguous territory and formed in a neighboring
irrigation district; (3) establishing provisions governing what
"improvement costs" in a LID must include; and (4) removing provisions
allowing farm and agricultural land to be exempt from special benefit
assessments of LIDs within irrigation districts.

Collecting Deferred Property Taxes (EHB 1421 -- Chapter 221, Laws
of 2013)

Proceeds from the sale of property acquired by the county at a property
foreclosure sale must first be applied to reimburse the county and then to
pay the amount of deferred property taxes owed to the state.

County Property Tax Levies (ESHB 1432 -- Chapter 123, Laws of
2013)

County legislative authority may increase or reduce the Veteran's
Assistance and county mental health property tax levies in the same
proportion as the regular county property tax levy.

Property Taxation of Mobile Homes and Park Model Trailers (EHB
1493 -- Chapter 198, Laws of 2013)

A mobile home park landlord may request that the county treasurer
remove outstanding taxes from the tax roll for certain abandoned or
recovered manufactured/ mobile homes with values less than $8,000.

Creating Greater Efficiency in the Offices of County Assessors (HB
1576 -- Chapter 131, Laws of 2013)

County assessors are authorized to send assessments, notices, or other
information via electronic means so long as the person entitled to the
information agrees to receive the information electronically, and the
assessor protects confidential information from unauthorized disclosure.
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This information is exempted from disclosure under the Public Records
Act.

Modifying the Property Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Fairs (E2SSB
5078 -- Chapter 212, Laws of 2013)

The real and personal property of a nonprofit fair association that was
purchased from a county or city is exempt from property tax. Large
nonprofit fairs with property valued at more than $15 million are
excluded from the exemption.

Administering Taxes for Publicly Owned Property (SSB 5444 --
Chapter 235, Laws of 2013)

The requirement that county assessors annually assess and send out real
property valuation notices for publicly owned property that is exempt
from taxation is removed. Those properties that are no longer exempt
must now be valued and listed. A leasehold excise tax credit for certain
leasehold interests in publicly owned real or personal property is
eliminated.

Property Tax Refunds and Abatements (SSB 5705 -- Chapter 239,
Laws of 2013)

County treasurers are authorized to: (1) accept payments on past due
property taxes, penalties, and interest by electronic funds transfer on a
monthly basis; (2) assess and collect tax foreclosure avoidance costs; and
(3) reimburse taxing districts for taxes that are abated or cancelled.

Repealing an Obsolete Timber Tax Credit (SB 5806 -- Chapter 240,
Laws of 2013)

Since 2004, all privately owned timber on state and local public land has
been exempt from the property tax. Therefore, a credit for property tax
paid on timber is obsolete. The credit is repealed.

Penalty and Interest Waivers Under Specified Circumstances (SHB
2149 -- Chapter 59, Laws of 2012)

A county's legislative authority may authorize its county assessor to
waive the late filing penalties for all assessment years prior to and
including 2011 for personal property tax if the taxpayer takes certain
steps. Taxpayers may not seek a refund or otherwise challenge the
amount of tax liability paid as a condition for receiving a penalty waiver
if they receive penalty relief.
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Modifying Exceptions to the Compensating Tax Provisions for Forest
Land (ESHB 2501 -- Chapter 170, Laws of 2012)

The exception for the payment of back taxes on designated forest land
when the transfer of property interests is for public use and enjoyment in
a county with a population of more than 600,000 inhabitants is changed
to include transfers in a county with a population of at least 245,000
inhabitants that borders Puget Sound, which currently includes Thurston
and Kitsap Counties. In addition, the exception for removals of land that
has been transferred from designated forest land to open space and then
removed from the open space classification under one of the authorized
exceptions is expanded from a county with a population of more than
600,000 inhabitants to a county with a population of at least 245,000
inhabitants that borders Puget Sound.

School District Financial Insolvency (SHB 2617 -- Chapter 186, Laws
of 2012)

Criteria is established for a school district to be identified as financially
insolvent as well as a process by which a financially insolvent school
district may be dissolved and its territory annexed by or transferred to
one or more contiguous school districts. Included are provisions relating
to property tax levies, including: (1) levies for paying the bonded
indebtedness of a dissolved school district; (2) extending any pre-
existing levy of a school district to territory received from a financially
insolvent school district; and (3) authorizing replacement or
supplemental levies, upon voter approval, by a school district annexing
or receiving territory from a financially insolvent school district.
Additionally, for property tax purposes, the boundaries of a school
district that annexes or receives territory from a financially insolvent
school district must be established on September 1st of the year in which
a levy is to be made for the enlarged school district.

Adjusting Voting Requirements for the Renewal of Emergency Medical
Service Levies (SSB 5381 -- Chapter 115, Laws of 2012)

A six-year or 10-year emergency medical services (EMS) levy may be
renewed with a majority vote rather than a supermajority vote. However,
the initial imposition of a permanent EMS levy or a six or 10-year EMS
levy must be by super-majority vote.
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Creating Authority for Counties to Exempt from Property Taxation
New and Rehabilitated Multiple-Unit Dwellings in Certain
Unincorporated Urban Centers (SSB 6277 -- Chapter 194, Laws of
2012)

The property tax exemption is expanded to include eligible new,
rehabilitated, or converted multiple-unit housing within residential
targeted areas in urban centers. The exemption is expanded to include
residential targeted areas located in the unincorporated area of a county if
(1) that area is within an urban growth area under the Growth
Management Act and contains an institution of higher education where at
least 1,200 students live on campus during the academic year and (2) the
county has an unincorporated population of at least 350,000. A property
owner seeking a property tax exemption must commit to renting or
selling at least 20 percent of multi-family housing units, located in an
unincorporated area of a county, as affordable housing to low and
moderate-income households.

Extending Property Tax Exemptions to Property Used Exclusively by
Certain Nonprofit Organizations that is Leased from an Entity that
Acquired the Property from a Previously Exempt Nonprofit
Organization (SSB 6600 -- Chapter 76, Laws of 2012)

Property that is exempt under RCW 84.36.030 continues to be exempt
when the property is transferred to an entity that would otherwise not
qualify for the exemption if; (1) the entity was formed exclusively for the
purpose of leasing the property to an organization that will use the
property for exempt purposes under RCW 84.36.030; (2) the lessee uses
the property for exempt purposes under RCW 84.36.030; (3) the
immediate previous owner of the property had received an exemption
under RCW 84.36.020 or 84.36.030; and (4) the benefit of the exemption
inures to the benefit of the lessee organization.

Appeal Protections for Value Changes (ESHB 1826 -- Chapter 84,
Laws of 2011)

A county board of equalization must waive the deadline for appealing the
assessed value of property for property tax purposes under the following
circumstances: the taxpayer’s property was in a revaluation area; the
property value did not change; the taxpayer was not sent a revaluation
notice; and the appeal is filed within a reasonable time after the July 1
filing deadline.
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Annexation by Regional Fire Protection Service Authorities (SHB
1854 -- Chapter 271, Laws of 2011)

Fire protection jurisdictions may annex into an adjacent regional fire
protection service authority if the annexation is approved by a simple
majority vote of the voters in the fire protection jurisdiction.

County and City Real Estate Excise Taxes (HB 1953 -- Chapter 354,
Laws of 2011)

Each year through calendar year 2016, a city, town, and county may use
the greater of $100,000 or 35% of real estate excise tax revenues, but not
exceeding $1 million, to pay for the operations and maintenance
expenditures of existing capital facilities.

Exempting Flood Control Districts (EHB 1969 -- Chapter 275, Laws of
2011)

For taxes levied for collection in 2012 through 2017, a flood control zone
district in a county with a population of 775,000 or more with boundaries
coextensive with a county may place up to $0.25 cents of the district's
$0.50 cent levy outside the $5.90 limit to avoid pro-rationing.

Contiguous Land under Current Use Open Space Property Tax
Programs (SSB 5359 -- Chapter 101, Laws of 2011)

Contiguous parcels held by the same ownership may be combined to
determine what size category and criteria apply to qualify for current use
valuation as agricultural or forest land under the Open Spaces Taxation
Act. To satisfy the same ownership requirement, the contiguous parcels
may be owned by members of the same family, legal entities wholly
owned by the members of the same family, or a combination of
individuals and entities that are wholly owned by members of the same
family.

Property Tax Exemption from Emergency Medical Services Levy (SB
5628 -- Chapter 365, Laws of 2011)

The portions of the City of Milton which are located in King County are
exempt from the King County EMS levy in order to address
complications from overlapping property tax jurisdictions. This is
accomplished by exempting all real and personal property from a county
EMS levy if the following requirements are met: (1) the property is
located in a county with a population of more than 1.5 million; (2) the
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property is located in a city included within two counties; and (3) the
locally assessed value of the property in the portion of the city included
is less than $125 million.

Property Tax Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations (SHB 2402 --
Chapter 186, Laws of 2010)

Until 2020, tax exempt property belonging to churches and nonprofit
public assembly halls or meeting places may be used for farmers markets
for up to 53 days each year.
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Glossary

Class of Property — The term is used in the state Constitution to describe a
broad type of property. There are only two classes of property — real property
(real estate) and personal property (everything else).

Comparable Sales Approach — A criterion which assessors use in determining
the value of a parcel of property. In fact, it is the primary criterion that assessors
are required to use in determining value. Assessors look at the dollar value of
sales of comparable parcels of property.

Cost Approach — Cost (or replacement cost) is a criterion which assessors may

use in determining the value of a parcel of property. In the absence of definitive
data on comparable sales, assessors examine the cost, or replacement cost, of the
parcel of property.

Current Use Valuation — A method of establishing the assessed value of a
parcel of property which allows the assessor to determine value based on the use
for which the property is currently utilized rather than the market value. Current
use valuation allows an owner to reduce the tax burden on agricultural lands,
timberlands, and open space lands. For example, agricultural lands may be
valued based on their production, even though the property has a higher market
value as commercial property or a housing development.

Equalization — A process by which the state Department of Revenue adjusts the
state property tax rate within each county to account for differences in
assessment practices between the 39 counties in which the state property tax is
levied. Equalization is necessary to ensure that the state property tax is levied
uniformly on taxpayers across the state.

Excess (or Special) Levy — Property taxes imposed in excess of the one percent
constitutional limit which must be voter approved.

Income Approach — Income is a criterion which assessors may use in
determining the value of a parcel of property. In the absence of definitive data
on comparable sales, assessors estimate the income potential of a parcel of
property and its effect on market value.

Indicated Ratio — The statistical ratio between the average assessed value of
property within a county and the actual market value of property within the
county. The indicated ratio for each county is determined by the state
Department of Revenue on the basis of averages derived from sampling
individual parcels within the county. Indicated ratios are used in equalizing the
state property tax levy across the state to ensure uniform taxation.

Junior Districts — Taxing districts which can levy property taxes but which
have a lower priority in levying property taxes than counties, cities, and road
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districts. Junior districts include fire districts, library districts, water districts,
park and recreation districts, hospital districts, cemetery districts, flood control
districts, and numerous others.

Limit factor - A statutory limit approved by the voters in Referendum 47
defined as 100 percent plus the percentage change in the implicit price deflator
for personal consumption (inflation).

One Percent Limit - A constitutional provisions limiting the annual amount of
property taxes that may be imposed on an individual parcel of property, without
voter approval, to one percent of its true and fair value.

Open Space — Open space lands are lands which conserve natural resources,
promote conservation, enhance public value and recreation, preserve visual
quality, or have other attributes which are of public value. Such lands are
eligible for valuation based on current use rather than market value.

Personal Property — All property, tangible and intangible, which is not real
property (real estate), is personal property.

Real Property — Real property consists of land and the buildings, structures, or
improvements that are affixed to the land. Real property and real estate are used
synonymously.

Regular Levy — Property taxes imposed under the constitutional one percent
limit on levies are termed regular levies. Regular levies do not require voter
approval.

Split Roll — Taxing one type of property differently than another type. The
example most often cited is taxing commercial property differently than
residential property.

Tax Shift — Causing one segment of taxpayers’ taxes to increase as a result of
exempting the value of property of another segment of taxpayers. For example,
exempting a portion of residential property may cause taxes on commercial
property to increase.

Uniformity Clause — Article 7, section 1 of the state Constitution requires that
“[a]ll taxes shall be uniform upon the same class of property within the
territorial limits of the authority levying the tax....” Uniformity requires both an
equal rate of tax and equality in valuing the property to be taxed. The
Constitution also stipulates that real estate is one class of property.

Valuation — The process used by the assessor to determine the true and fair
value, or the assessed value, of property. Another term for valuation is property
assessment.

106 Percent Limit — A statutory limit imposed by the Legislature in 1971 (in
1979 for the state levy) that limits annual increases in property tax revenues for
a taxing district from regular levies to no more than 106 percent of the highest
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amount of revenue from any levy in the past three years. (see also Limit Factor
above).
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